Bumper entry for the Tour of Epynt

Just over half of the 100 entries so far received for the Port Talbot Motor Club-organised Melvyn Evans Motorsport Tour of Epynt (11 March) are registered Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship contenders – highlighting the tremendous response the revamped series has received from competitors.

Six time Champion Damian Cole (Ford Fiesta WRC) and last year’s event winner Bob Fowden (ex-Petter Solberg Subaru Impreza WRC S11) head up the opening round challenge, while other mouth-watering entries include Adrian Spencer and Brian Watson in a pair of Subaru Impreza WRC S11s, Nigel Feeney and Dan Harper in a pair of Mini John Cooper Works Mini WRCs, Rob Tout (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X), John MacNiven (Subaru Impreza), Lee Perry (Ford Escort Cosworth), Barry Groundwater (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X), Geoff Glover (Vauxhall Astra RWD) and Richard Clews (Subaru Impreza STI).

The classes are extremely well supported too, with a pair of Spencer Sport Mitsubishi Mirage R5s for Jamie Jukes and Phil Hopkins, Tomas Davies (Fiesta R5), Geoff Wright (Fiesta S2000), Bill Paynter (Peugeot 106 Rallye), Richard Egger (Vauxhall Nova), Chris Wheeler (Citroen DS3 R3T), Tom Barber (BMW Compact), Oliver Bell (Nissan Micra), Tim Waters (Renault Clio), Rhidian Daniels (Citroen C1 Max), Mike Pugsley (Escort Mk1), Tom Middlemiss (Vauxhall Corsa), Stuart Anderson (Vauxhall Chevette HSR GP4) and Will Mains in his rapid 1400cc Vauxhall Nova (pictured) – plus a lot more!

With such a great variety of cars, it’s going to be an exciting day of asphalt competition over the 75 miles of stages that snake over the famous Epynt terrain!

The current Tour of Epynt entry list is available at: www.rallies.info/webentry/2018/epynt/entries.php?type=u

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.