B10 Protyre Asphalt champions show their road rallying class on the Cilwendeg

Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship class B10 champions Rhidian Daniels and Tomas Whittle won the Semi-Experts/Novices class and finished 25th overall on the recent Cilwendeg Rally.

The pair, who took the stage rally title with a perfect five class wins in their JJ Aggregates-backed Citroën C1 Max, drove a Ford Escort Mk2 on the famous Teifi Valley Motor Club-organised road rally – in what was a dress rehearsal for their own Ammanford Motor Club’s Mel Harries Memorial Rally, which takes place later this month.

They weren’t the only Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship representatives on the event – as Championship Co-ordinator Jane Evans was drafted in as their designated marshal.

Furthermore, Dai Roberts – who won the B10 class on the Carryduff Forklift Down Rally and was second on the Old Forge Garage Mewla Rally, driving his Peugeot 205 GTi – navigated Chris Hand to Cilwendeg Rally victory in a Ford Sierra.

“Tom and I had never competed on a night event together, so we thought we’d do the Mel Harries, our local motor club’s road rally, at the end of the year – so in preparation for that we did the Cilwendeg, as it’s such a famous road rally and one I have always wanted to do,” said Rhidian.

“We both had great fun. I got used to driving rear-wheel drive and Tom found his feet straight away, after not doing a night event in over nine and a half years! It was a very fun night and we were over the moon to come away with a result to go with it fantastic car supplied by Crowly Motorsport. Hopefully we have just as much fun on the Mel now!”

Rhidian and Tomas will collect their class B10 trophies at the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship Gala Prizegiving and Awards Ceremony, which takes place tomorrow night at the Hilton Puckrup Hall near Tewkesbury.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply