Darren Spann appointed Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship Manager

The BTRDA has appointed Darren Spann as Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship Manager from 2022, following the retirement of Jane Evans at the end of the 2021 season.

The BTRDA gives Jane a huge thank you for her amazing work over the past four years as she rebuilt the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship to its current status as the premier asphalt championship in the UK.

Darren Spann’s appointment brings a wealth of experience from the world of rallying. Having run the hugely successful Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship since its inception seven years ago, he has also been Clerk of the Course for the Neil Howard Stages Rally since 2012, turning the event from a single venue stage rally into one of the biggest events on the Oulton Park calendar. He was pivotal in bringing the Wales Rally GB stage to Oulton Park in 2019 and recently successfully hosted the opening round of the 2021 British Rally Championship.

Darren commented: “I am delighted to be given the opportunity to run the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship and with the help of the BTRDA and my team we fully intend to bring the Championship to the spectators, building on the work we have already carried out with the Motorsport News Circuit Championship. Amongst our aims is to establish a clear structure between the two championships, making it far easier for teams to gather sponsorship and create opportunities to allow us to find and develop the next Richard Burns.”

Jane Evans commented: “It has been an honour to be able to work with the competitors who I have always held in high regard and have had a huge amount of respect for. Over the past four years the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship has developed into something that competitors wish to belong to and we have built relationships and friendships, from competitors to events to service crews, who are always ready with the kettle and a warm welcome. I have had an amazing team, who have shared my vision and have embraced my ideas. None of this would have developed without the support of Protyre and Shaun Chetwyn [Protyre Motorsport Manager] who has guided me through good and bad times and to Mike Broad and Mike Sones, long standing members of BTRDA. I wish all competitors good luck for 2022.”

Mike Broad, President of the BTRDA, commented: “I would like to say a very big thank you to Jane for all her hard work over the past few years, she has been a delight to work with and we wish her every success with her new job. I am delighted that we have appointed Darren and I am certain that he with his team will develop the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship even further.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.