Wright takes maximum Round 2 Protyre Asphalt points after day one of the Manx

David Wright has taken maximum Round 2 points in the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship after reaching the finish of Friday’s Manx National Rally in the lead.

Co-driven by Paula Swinscoe, Wright started Leg 2 with a 13.6 second, but in an intense five stage / 32.25 stage miles evening battle, that advantage came down to 6.3 seconds. 

But that is enough to give the Michelin-shod Ford Fiesta R5 driver the full 30 points today and the lead in the Protyre Asphalt series – with Round 3 and another 30 winning points up for grabs tomorrow (Saturday 13 May).

Callum Black/Jack Morton remain second in their Pallas Connections-backed Ford Fiesta Rally2. They lost a little bit of time on the final stage of Leg 1 (SS4) when they landed a little on a bank and filled two wheels up with mud, causing a nasty vibration. 

Hugh Hunter/Rob Fagg moved up to third in their RSH Tarmac Ford Fiesta Rally2, overtaking Kevin Davies/Owain Davies, who have nevertheless enjoyed an excellent day in their Cobra Hydraulics-backed Volkswagen Polo GTI R5.

Neil Roskell/Andrew Roughead remain fifth in their ND Civils/Burdens/Witham Motorsport Ford Fiesta Rally2, while defending Protyre Asphalt champion Steve Wood (co-driven by Kenny Hull) finished day one in sixth in his Trailhead Get Jerky Ford Fiesta WRC.

John Stone/Laura Connell are eighth overall tonight in their Legend Fires Volkswagen Polo GTI R5, but score seventh placed Protyre Asphalt Round 2 points.

Further down the order than you might expect his local hero Steven Ormond-Smith; the reason being that the suspension settings in his ORMCO Accounts/Manx Rally Sport-supported Mitsubishi Evo 9 gave him and co-driver Dafydd Evans little confidence on the fast bumpy sections. 

William Hill/Richard Crozier are absolutely flying in their Hills Ford Fiesta Rally3, the class B13 crew lying a very impressive 13th overall – sandwiched between Wayne Sisson/ Peredur Davies (AMS Arnside Motorsport-prepared Mitsubishi Evo 10) and Richard Clews/Carl Williamson (ITG Subaru Impreza STi).

Also flying is the reigning Northern Ireland Junior rally champion Sam Adams. Partnered by Michael Johnston, the youngster’s Pinto-engined Mk2 is the top placed Escort.

Congratulations to the double class B11 champions Paul and Julian Doroszczuk who won the Dynamic Fluids Best Presented Car Award (as chosen and presented by Protyre Asphalt Championship scrutineer Geoff Doe) for their immaculate normally aspirated Cosworth engine Escort Mk2.

Jonathan Stepney/Aled Davies lost the brakes on their new Griffiths Group/Motorhome Services Scotland-backed Renault Clio Sport 2.0 16v on SS3 and had to drive slowly through SS4 to ensure they arrived back in service at the end of Leg 1. Unfortunately, they weren’t able to get back out on Friday evening’s Leg 2.

Also missing from Leg 2 was Archie Swinscoe. His Protyre Asphalt debut didn’t go as planned when he and co-driver Jane Nicol found themselves minus the front left wheel after the studs on their Rallytech Composites/Asset Alliance Group Opel Adam sheered.

Brad Cole/Neil Colman (Hydroline Solutions Escort Mk2) and Mike English/Andy Robinson (Proact Fiesta Rally2) both retired late on Friday night.

Please note that all times and positions are provisional at the time of writing.

Round 3 of the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship (tomorrow’s Leg 3 of the Manx National) is the longest of the event, with eight stages and 83.18 stage miles over some of the island’s classic stages – namely, Newtown, The Curraghs, Dog Mills and The Baldwins.

All of today’s action is available to view on the Special Stage TV Facebook page, while tomorrow’s live coverage will come from: SS10 – 09:41 (stage end driver interviews), SS11 – 10:27 (action/all cars/two passes), SS13 – 11:28 (action/all cars), SS15 – 13:33 (action/all cars) and the TT Grandstand finish podium celebrations and winning crew interviews from 14:53.

Manx National Rally – top 5 at the end of Leg 2 (after SS9)
1. David Wright/Paula Swinscoe (Ford Fiesta R5)….47mins 25.2secs
2. Callum Black/Jack Morton (Ford Fiesta Rally2)….47mins 31.5secs
3. Hugh Hunter/Rob Fagg (Ford Fiesta Rally2)….47mins 52.0secs
4. Kevin Davies/Owain Davies (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5)….48mins 02.7secs
5. Neil Roskell/Andrew Roughead (Ford Fiesta Rally2)….48mins 20.9secs

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply