Protyre are delighted to confirm that they are title sponsors of the Protyre BTRDA Asphalt Rally Championship in 2023.

We are very much looking forward to the start of the new season and seeing old friends and new.

Protyre, along with the assistance of motorsport’s leading tyre manufacturers, Pirelli, Michelin and Hoosier Tyres, are proud to renew their sponsorship of this prestigious championship, combined with the new and exciting calendar, it all promises to make the 2023 season very special.

Shaun Chetwyn
Protyre Motorsport


Welcome to the Protyre BTRDA Asphalt Rally Championship 2023.

As a new organising team, we have one year behind us and, armed with a lot of experience and competitor feedback, we now look forward to a new championship year. I would like to thank Shaun Chetwyn of Protyre Motorsport for his continued support as well as all our other sponsors, without whom the championship would not be possible. We welcome Richard Vincent and his team from The Reed Group East Riding Stages Rally to the championship, we also welcome back the Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally having had a year out due to calendar clashes. It’s great to see the Down Rally, Beatson’s Building Supplies Jim Clark Rally, Nigel Ferguson Fabricators Tour of Epynt and the Dunoon presents Argyll Rally returning to the championship for the second year running as well as having the Manx National back on the calendar in May. Having worked with all these organisers during 2022, it’s a pleasure to be working with them all in 2023.

New for 2023, we are expanding the historic classes and introducing the BTRDA Asphalt Historic Cup for the overall historic champion.

There will be no change to the championship team personnel for 2023, and I am very grateful to all members of the team. We will continue to deliver a live stream through Wayne Goldring at Special Stage assisted with interviews from Mark James.

2023 will be the 40th year anniversary of the championship, the first championship winners being Bob Fowden and Derrick Davies, Derrick co-driving for John Price.

I look forward to welcoming you all to a new championship year’s rallying.

Good luck to all.

Paul Morris