Asphalt Asides No. 7


Peter Lloyd, Subaru Impreza WRC

Peter Lloyd executed a dominant display to win the Eventsigns Mewla Rally, the sixth round of the REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, in his Subaru Impreza WRC for the second time in three years. Although his victory was impressive, Peter is not in line for Championship honours this year and the result, combined with tales of woe from those who are, leaves the fight for this year’s Championship title in a fascinating state which will, likely as not, go down to the final round on Otterburn.

John Indri, Darrian T90 GTR
John Indri, Darrian T90 GTR

Picking his way through the carnage, John Indri brought his Darrian T90 GTR back to the Showground in Builth Wells in runner-up spot, moving at the same time into 2nd place in the overall Championship and overhauling an absent Simon Mauger to lead the Millington RWD Challenge with three rounds still to go.

Eian Pritchard, Ford Focus WRC

Eian Pritchard drove the Ford Focus WRC in which his son Jason performed so well on the Isle of Man in May to 3rd place, while John Stone overcame various problems to take 4th in his Skoda Fabia WRC. Fifth, after a splendid run, was the Escort MkI of Ian Kenvin/Ian Meakin – not only lots more Millington RWD points, but Mr Meakin also joins the hallowed ranks of top points-scoring co-drivers in the overall Championship!


Adge Spencer/Mark Hewitt
put in a measured drive to 7th overall – a solid run, bolstered by 5th fastest times on each of the final two stages of the day, giving him the John Horton Motorsport Management ‘Star Performer’ award for the event.

After a considerable absence, Kevin Tappin returned to the series to take 9th in his Ford Escort Cosworth, while Steve Simpson/Patrick Walsh were extremely pleased to see the Showground at all, albeit  down in 10th place. Their Impreza WRC was quickest out of the stocks, setting FTD on the first stage, putting them into the lead which, following a loss of 20s on SS3 with a spin/stall, was unfortunately short-lived. That was nothing, however, compared with what was to come – a turbo pipe came off on the penultimate stage of the day, forcing them to crawl through the 14+ miles and lose nearly five minutes to the leader. End of challenge? Well, no, as it happened….

Damian Cole’s Focus WRC ground to a halt on the same stage and was unable to continue. So, although Simpson didn’t earn as many points as he would have liked, those that he did were enough to see him back in the lead of the Championship.


Millington RWD Challenge points were shared equally between Darrians and Escorts – as mentioned John Indri was the main beneficiary on the day, with Ian Kenvin next. Richard Merriman/Kath Curzon’s Darrian finished just outside the Top Ten to take 3rd points, ahead of the Escort MkII of Graham Hollis/Ashley Trimble.


Matt Beebe/Paula Swinscoe’s attempts to retain their 2012 BTRDA FWD Challenge title took another knock when their MG ZR retired prior to the first stage when a brake union fractured. However, all is not lost and there is still time to pull the season round. Ian Barnard/Andy Bull’s Nova was the top scorer on the day and, having started at 78 and finished 34th, also earned it’s driver the Fuchs Titan Race ‘Best Improvement on Seeding’ voucher for his trouble.


Having missed several rounds of the Championship recently, Craig Jose/Nigel Hewett were back for the Mewla. They finished behind the Toyota Corolla of Dale & Marc Clatworthy and Richard Bliss’ Honda Civic in Class B10 but, perhaps more importantly, scored maximum points in the AB Motorsport Peugeot 205 Challenge.

43 Championship-registered cars started the Mewla – more than last year and over 50% of the total entry. The finishers not mentioned above included :

Crew Car Position
Anthony Morgan/Jonathan Hawkins Ford Escort MkII 16th
Neal Arden/Giles Corbett Subaru Impreza 18th
Graham Watkins/David Percival Ford Escort 20th/1st
Connor Corkill/Mark Perryman Subaru Impreza 22nd
Paul Evans/Lol Powell Ford Escort MkII 23rd
Graham Muter/Steve Hallmark Ford Escort MkII 25th/1st
Gareth Reed/Adrian Williams BMW M3 27th
Stephen Ritchie/Ian Harden BMW M3 Compact 31st
James Sharrock/Stuart Faulds Ford Escort MkII 35th
Paul & Julian Doroszczuk Ford Escort MkII 38th
David Earthy/Den Golding Citroen C2R2 39th/1st
 Carwyn Watkins/Sherryn Watkins  Ford Fiesta ST    41st/1st
 Julian Barnett/Chris Williams  Subaru Impreza  43rd
 Chris Daykin/Rob Cook  Subaru Impreza  49th

One of the mechanics tending Car No.7, Ashley Field’s Darrian T90, was injured in an unfortunate incident in the service area during the Mewla. Although he was released from hospital later the same day, everyone associated with the Asphalt Championship would like to wish him a speedy recovery.


TV coverage of the Eventsigns Mewla Rally is initially due for broadcast on Motors TV on Friday 13th September at 21.00.


Championship points following the Eventsigns Mewla Rally were circulated earlier in the week. If you have any queries, please contact the Coordinator immediately as they will go final at midday on 3rd September.


Round 7 : Our second trip to Ireland for the Wexford Stages Rally (7/8th September) is almost upon us. The entry is full, leading to a ‘Reserves’ list for those still hopeful of a run. Those wishing to keep in touch from home can do so by logging on to either the event’s own website –  or

Round 8 : Regulations and entry forms for the EDP Photonews/Bob Dowen Rally Services Patriot Stages Rally (29th September), which takes place at the MoD training area at Caerwent, are available to download  from The entry list is filling up – even now, with more than a month to go, there are less than 30 places left….

Round 9 (Final) : Regulations & entry forms for the UTS Cheviot Keith Knox Stages (20th October) are available to download  from It is possible that those disappointed by the unfortunate cancellation of the Lindisfarne Rally will also be looking for a run out over the Otterburn Ranges before the end of the season. Add to that the 1.25 coefficient on any points gained by Asphalt Championship contenders and it is likely that places will be at a premium. You are strongly advised to ENTER EARLY!…

AWARDS EVENING : The Awards Presentation for the REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship will take place on Saturday 30th November at Moor Hall Hotel, Sutton Coldfield. Further details will be released shortly but, in the meantime, please put the date in your diary.

Andrew Haill

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply