Patriot games

IMG_3859As the most competitive REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship for years heads towards its conclusion, the penultimate round – the Patriot Stages – is playing a crucial role as the battle for the coveted title reaches fever pitch!

Peter Lloyd & Kath Curzon lead the field in their Impreza WRC, ahead of the Escort MkII of Simon Mauger/Brian Cammack. Absent from the last couple of Championship rounds, Mauger will be looking to re-establish himself not only in Class B12, but also in the Millington Rear-Wheel Drive Challenge. However, someone who will have other ideas on that score is John Indri whose Darrian T90 GTR starts at No.3!

Indri’s hard work so far this year has elevated him to 3rd in the overall Championship standings and he is one of four drivers still in with a shout of the title. He currently leads the Millington Challenge, but it goes without saying that there is plenty of work to do, both at Caerwent and on the final round on Otterburn if he is to achieve his goal.

Ditto – Paul Bird. The Cumbrian took his Focus WRC to victory on both the Manx National Rally and ALMC Stages, but came to grief on his recent outing on the Wexford Stages. Although down in 9th place in the table prior to Caerwent, two more good scores could send the trophy in Bird’s direction.

Following a disappointing 2012 in his Skoda Fabia WRC, John Stone’s season started well, only to slip back with a couple of retirements. 4th last time out on the Mewla gives cautious grounds for optimism and the Blackburn driver is another whose final placing would improve dramatically with strong showings on the last two events.

Roger Hicks’ 3-litre Escort and the Impreza of Bob Fowden are ahead of a trio of Escorts in the hands of Pete Rayner, Brian & Ian Davis and Ian Kenvin/Ian Meakin whose MkI was an amazing 5th overall on the Mewla!

The quality continues into the Twenties, with the Toyota Corolla WRC of Gary Le Coadou/Paul Hollingham, Andy Fraser/Terry Martin’s 3-litre Darrian T9 and the Imprezas of Adrian Spencer/Mark Hewitt & Philip Turner starting line astern. 25% of the 100-strong Patriot Stages entry is occupied by MSA Asphalt Championship contenders and, in addition to those mentioned above, the others include :

* Mike English/Dave Roberts Ford Escort MkII MRWD
* Graham Watkins/Ian Taylor Ford Escort MRWD
* Neal Arden/Giles Corbett Subaru Impreza
* Chris Marshall/Simon Hunter Mitsubishi Lancer EVO5
* Chris Daykin/Dan Megannity Subaru Impreza
* Wynne Watkins/Sherryn Roberts Subaru Impreza
* Ian Barnard/Andy Bull Vauxhall Nova FWD
* Dale Clatworthy/Marc Clatworthy Toyota Corolla MRWD
* Ian Sutton/Alex Sutton Toyota Corolla MRWD
* Craig Jose/Nigel Hewett Peugeot 205 FWD/ABM
* Tim Daltry/Emma Morrison Peugeot 205 FWD/ABM
* Stephen Ritchie/Ian Harden BMW M3 Compact MRWD

MRWD = Millington Rear-Wheel Drive Challenge / FWD = Front-Wheel Drive Challenge
ABM = AB Motorsport Peugeot 205 Challenge

Six special stages, totalling 65 miles, lie in wait for competitors and the first car is due to start the event at 9.15am on Sunday 29th September. Caerwent Training Area, itself, is a non-spectator venue, but the team from Special stage will be on hand to capture the action and the results of their labours is due to be broadcast on Motors TV for all to see at 22.00 on Friday 18th October.

Further details of the REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship are available from the Coordinator :

Andrew Haill – Tel : 0121 313 1416/E-mail :

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply