2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship announce significant class awards and incentives for competitors

The 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship will include a fantastic array of cash and product prizes throughout the classes – ranging from a total of 102 free tyres courtesy of Protyre, Mintex brake pads, £300 worth of vouchers and a masterclass from Nicky Grist Motorsports, a Melvyn Evans Motorsport Junior Award, an award for the highest placed Ford from Hendy Ford Motorsport, 15% off ferry travel to Ireland from Nutt Travel and a special travel and accommodation package to the Rally van Wervik and awards from Fairfield Motorsport.

Having taken a sabbatical in 2017, there has been a huge amount of interest from competitors and teams who have expressed a keen interest in contesting the revamped championship next year. Following discussions with competitors, Championship Co-ordinator Jane Evans has created a broad class structure designed to give a wide variety of cars a top national championship in which to compete in – which will be revealed in full when the Championship Regulations are published on December 1.

In addition to the high level of competitor interest, companies have also come forward wishing to support the Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, allowing for some impressive cash and product rewards to be offered to registered competitors throughout the class structure. These awards include:

Protyre Motorsport
Whilst competitors are free to buy their tyres from any supplier, Protyre will offer a generous event-by-event prize fund to users of Pirelli, Michelin and Hoosier motorsport tyres who purchase their tyres from Protyre or an official Protyre outlet. On each qualifying event, Protyre will give tyres to match the ones used in the Championship to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd registered drivers overall in the general classification, 1st and 2nd registered driver overall in the Historic classification, and 1st and 2nd registered drivers overall in the 1400cc classification, as follows:
Overall: 1st – 4 tyres; 2nd – 2 tyres; 3rd – 2 tyres
Historic: 1st – 2 tyres; 2nd – 1 tyre
1400cc: 1st – 4 tyres; 2nd – 2 tyres

That’s a total of 102 free prize-winning tyres during the 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship.

Registered drivers who purchase their competition tyres from Protyre will also receive a special rate and will be able to benefit from a comprehensive on-event tyre service at each round.

First placed driver and co-driver overall
The first placed driver in the 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship will receive the coveted ARC Trophy & BTRDA Award, while the winning co-driver will receive the Motordrive Seats Perpetual Trophy & BTRDA Award. The winning driver and co-driver will also be awarded prestigious BTRDA Gold Stars.

Mintex Award
The Mintex Award will be presented to the best improvement on seeding and awarded to the competitor who finished the most places up from seeding position. The award includes one axle set of Mintex Brake pads to suit the calipers used on the winning car.

Mintex Junior Award
The Mintex Junior Award will be a draw at the end of the season for £500, for drivers who are Under 25 on 1 January, 2018.

Melvyn Evans Motorsport Junior Award
Melvyn Evans Motorsport Junior Award will be given to the highest placed driver in the overall points table aged Under 25 on 1 January 2018, plus £200.

Nicky Grist Motorsports 1400cc Award
Nicky Grist Motorsports will give the winning driver and co-driver of the 1400cc Class a £100 voucher each, to be spent on anything they wish in the Nicky Grist Motorsports range. The second placed driver and co-driver will receive a £50 voucher each.  In addition, Nicky – who is an MSA Academy Co-driver Coach – will bring a top British driver with him to host a special coaching session before one of the events for registered 1400cc crews, giving free expert practical advice specifically targeted to asphalt rallying.

The Hendy Ford Performance Trophy
The Hendy Ford Performance Trophy, plus a voucher for £100 redeemable at Hendy Ford Motorsport, will be presented to the driver of the highest placed registered Ford in the overall points standings at the end of the season.

Wales Motorsport
The Wales Motorsport Award, plus £200, will be presented to the driver of the highest placed registered Historic vehicle, configured as the original version, in the overall points table at the end of the season.

Tony Davies Memorial Award
The Tony Davies Memorial Award will be presented to the individual who has done something special in relation to the Championship, adjudged at the discretion of the Championship Co-ordinator.

Nutt Travel Award and discount
The Nutt Travel Award will be a draw at the end of the season, with the prize of a free ferry crossing to compete in either Ireland or the UK. Nutt Travel will also offer all Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship registered competitors a 15% discount on Irish ferry crossings.

Fairfield Motorsport Award and Rally van Wervik package
Fairfield Motorsport is offering a special travel and accommodation package to the Rally van Wervik, with special rates for vans and trailers from Dover-Calais and Hull-Zeebrugge. These packages can be viewed now at merlinwonders.com. The Fairfield Motorsport Award will be presented to the first overall driver and co-driver who travelled to the event with them, while all its customers will be put into a prize draw with a chance to win £100.

Jane Evans, Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship Co-ordinator, said: “We are humbled by the number of top motorsport companies who have come forward to offer incentives and rewards to the revamped Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, and we’d like to extend our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed to these most generous overall and class awards.”

The date of the Keldine Autos Cheviot Stages Rally, held over the Otterburn ranges in Northumberland, has changed – moving one week later than its original date to 27/28 October. The revised calendar is:

10/11 March….Melvyn Evans Motorsport Tour of Epynt
11/12 May….Manx National Rally
9 June….Rally van Wervik
21 July….Carryduff Forklift Down Rally
25/26 August….Old Forge Garage Mewla Rally
27/28 October….Keldine Autos Cheviot Stages Rally

About Protyre
Protyre is the UK’s fastest growing chain of fast fit and mechanical centres with a growing network of 109 branches, supplying a complete range of tyres, from premium to economy, for all makes and models of cars, vans, 4x4s and motorcycles, as well as offering MOTs, mechanical repairs and servicing. Protyre is service driven to ensure technical expertise, quality and customer care, making it the local garage people can trust. Protyre’s Motorsport division provides tyres and tyre fitting services for competitions, including the MSA Asphalt Rally Championship. Protyre is the retail arm of Micheldever Tyre Services Ltd, the UK’s premier tyre wholesaler, distributor and retailer. www.protyre.co.uk

For more Championship information, please contact:
Jane Evans: jane@asphaltrallying.com

For information on Protyre, please contact:
Shaun Chetwyn, Protyre Motorsport Manager
Shaun.Chetwyn@protyre.co.uk / 07968 307584

For Media information, please contact:
Paul Evans: paul@fablass.com
Pictures courtesy of rallygallery.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply