Entries open for the 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship!

Entries have opened today for the 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship – with Championship Regulations published on-line here

Organised by the BTRDA, the Championship will consist of six rounds, with the best five scores to count.
An 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship is open to all fully paid-up members of the BTRDA (entry into the Championship includes full membership of the BTRDA) and who are registered in the Championship, having a National A or higher grade competition licence issued by the MSA, or by Motorsport Ireland. Any professional competitors and drivers holding a licence issued by any EU country showing an EU Flag, being fully paid up members of the BTRDA and registered in the Championship, shall be entitled to take part and score points in the Championship.

The exciting and inclusive class structure has been created to include as many different types of car and competitors of varying ability and ambition as possible, and will include Historic, Junior and 1400cc sections. Homologated and non-homologated WRC cars will be allowed, while R5-spec, Super 2000 and RRC will compete in their own class – separate to WRC cars. Full details on the class structure, the points system and awards are in the Regulations.

Jane Evans, Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship Co-ordinator, said: “We welcome you all to the 2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, and enter 2018 with a new title sponsor, for which we are extremely grateful and thank Protyre for their support. Following the decision to take a sabbatical in 2017, the Championship is now ready to launch itself and work towards becoming the best sealed surface championship in the UK. We are able to offer six quality rounds with exciting new challenges for drivers and co-drivers as the season unfolds.

“Full television coverage is in place with Special Stage and we will also be able to deliver live action with the developing Live Streaming option to reach a worldwide audience, together with live radio interviews with RallyFM. Also, the BTRDA Council has elected to award the prestigious BTRDA Gold Stars to the champion driver and co-driver.

Go to regs. page

“So we urge competitors to get their cars out of the garage and come and join us for a season of top class competition on some of the premier asphalt events in the UK and overseas.”

Shaun Chetwyn, Protyre Motorsport Manager, said: “Protyre is very proud to support the MSA and BTRDA in bringing back the Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship in 2018. Protyre has a very long history of providing an on-event fitting and technical service to all forms of motorsport here in the UK and across Europe. It is a real pleasure to work with Jane [Evans] to restore the Championship to its former glory, and to play a role in what I believe will be a very exciting future.”


2018 Protyre MSA Asphalt Rally Championship calendar

10/11 March….Melvyn Evans Motorsport Tour of Epynt
11/12 May….Manx National Rally
9 June….Rally van Wervik
21 July….Carryduff Forklift Down Rally
25/26 August….Old Forge Garage Mewla Rally
27/28 October….Keldine Autos Cheviot Stages Rally

About Protyre
Protyre is the UK’s fastest growing chain of fast fit and mechanical centres with a growing network of 109 branches, supplying a complete range of tyres, from premium to economy, for all makes and models of cars, vans, 4x4s and motorcycles, as well as offering MOTs, mechanical repairs and servicing. Protyre is service driven to ensure technical expertise, quality and customer care, making it the local garage people can trust. Protyre’s Motorsport division provides tyres and tyre fitting services for competitions, including the MSA Asphalt Rally Championship. Protyre is the retail arm of Micheldever Tyre Services Ltd, the UK’s premier tyre wholesaler, distributor and retailer. www.protyre.co.uk

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply