Darrian Cars scoops top Welsh Motoring Writers award

Darrian Cars, a stalwart of the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship, has been honoured with the Tom Pryce Memorial Trophy – one of the highest accolades presented by the Welsh Motoring Writers.

Based in Llangybi near Lampeter, Darrian Cars has been producing race and rally cars since 1976.

Since then it has established a phenomenal reputation for designing, building and running outstanding asphalt challengers, and has won many rallies over the years – and twice carried crews to Britain’s premier sealed-surface title; Geoff Kitney/Alan McCann in 1990 and John Dalton/Alun Davies in 1993.

“For our achievements at Darrian Cars to be recognised by Welsh Motoring Writers and to be presented with the Tom Pryce Memorial Trophy was indeed an honour,” says owner Tim Duffee – who received an honorary fellowship of the University of Wales Trinity St David in 2013, in recognition of his contribution to motorsport.

“Darrian Cars is one of the unsung heroes of the motorsport scene, and not only does it help keep Wales on the constructor map for race and rally cars, the company has also been a guiding light for the next generation of top motorsport engineers,” added Welsh Motoring Writers chair, Simon Harris.

“We are delighted to highlight the excellent work of Tim and his small team.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply