Ten drivers hit the Protyre Asphalt sponsor and partner awards jackpot

Ten drivers hit the jackpot when it came to the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship sponsor and partner awards on the opening round of the series, the Reed Group East Riding Stages.

David Henderson (Ford Fiesta Rally2), David Wright (Ford Fiesta R5) and Elliot Payne (Ford Fiesta Rally2) received tyre rewards from Protyre Motorsport for finishing first, second and third overall, while Michael Harbour (Ford Escort Mk2), John McKeand (Subaru Impreza) and Chris Ford (Citroën C3 Rally2) did likewise for winning classes B11, B12 and R5 respectively. 

Having been seeded at number 66, Chris Ford (pictured) also won the Mintex Award for recording the best improvement on starting position after he came home 23rd overall. He wins an axle set of Mintex brake pads for his Citroën.

Geoff Roberts’ hard work preparing his gorgeous Ford Escort RS1800 was rewarded when he won the Dynamic Fluids Best Presented Car award.

The Vital Equipment / Carless Fuel award went to Sam Adams (Ford Escort Mk2) and Will Rowlands (Ford Escort RS1800) for winning class B12 and the Historic Cup category respectively, while Sam also picked up five litres of free oil thanks to taking the top spot in the Fuchs Junior Driver Award.

Ian MacDougall was the first winner of the Protyre Asphalt Junior Co-drivers’ award, having guided Michael Harbour to his class B11 win. Thanks to the Gareth Roberts Fund, Ian will receive a discount on his OnThePaceNote route notes for the Manx National Rally – and advice when he needs it from experienced co-drivers Dai Roberts and Craig Parry.

More event-by-event rewards will be won on Rounds 2 and 3 of the Protyre Asphalt Championship – the double header Isle of Man event on 12/13 May!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply