Former Protyre Asphalt vice-champion Wayne Sisson returns for a crack at the 2023 series

One time leader of the Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship and former class B14 champion Wayne Sisson is returning to the series this year – beginning with the double header Manx National Rally (12/13 May).

The Carnforth driver led the overall drivers’ standings in 2018 for three rounds and was 14 points ahead with one round remaining. 

After a season of consistently high scores the points to drop rule was to work against him however, and with little chance of improving on his overall points tally Wayne didn’t contest the final Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally. He eventually finished second overall to Jason Pritchard and won the class title.

Wayne will contest this year’s BTRDA-run Protyre Asphalt Championship in an AMS Arnside Motorsport-built and run Mitsubishi Evo 10 – just as he did in 2018.

He’ll be co-driven by Peredur Davies, who guided Wayne to seventh overall on last year’s Tour of Mull Rally – and who will navigate for him on this weekend’s Circuit of Ireland.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply