Protyre Asphalt trio’s trip down memory lane, as they contest the Circuit of Kerry

Three stars of this year’s Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship will make a trip down memory lane this weekend when they contest the Circuit of Kerry.

The Circuit of Kerry was a round of the Asphalt Rally Championship back in the late 1980s / early 1990s and was won by Ken Lyons/Phil Moynihan (Ford Escort RS1800 Mk2) in 1987, Mike Pattison/Andrew Kellitt (Ford Sierra) in 1988, Mike Pattison/John Crone (Darrian T9) in 1989 and Geoff Kitney/Alan McCann (Darrian T9) in 1990 – the latter going on to clinch the Asphalt title in the same year.

It was one of the most challenging rounds of the series, with the incredibly fast Conor Pass stage going up and over one of the highest mountain passes in Ireland, and the stunning Slea Head test which hugged the Atlantic coast on the Dingle Peninsula.

And what happened in Tralee on rally weekends back in those days stayed in Tralee!

This year reigning Protyre Asphalt champion Steve Wood is contesting the event in his Trailhead Get Jerky-backed Ford Fiesta RS WRC, as is John Stone (Legend Fires Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) and Hugh Hunter (Ford Fiesta R5).

Also going over to watch is Protyre Asphalt Rally Championship Co-ordinator Paul Morris.

The Circuit of Kerry takes place on Sunday (2 April), with three stages tackled three times giving 68 stage miles.  

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply